Faculty Spotlight: Assistant Professor, Mallory Turner

Assistant Professor, Mallory Turner began working for HUCOP in December of 2016. I asked her a few questions to get to know her a little better and give her some attention on HUCOP’s media outlets.

1. Tell me about your time at Harding, what were you involved in?

I transferred to Harding as a junior in my undergraduate studies as Harding was preparing to open the only Christian pharmacy school at the time. My sister (and best friend) was an incoming freshman at Harding, and I also transferred to be at Harding with her and to become acclimated to Searcy and the Harding community in hopes that I would be accepted to HUCOP. I was accepted into the inaugural HUCOP class that began in 2008. My time at HUCOP as a student was blessed and busy! As the first class, we had the exciting opportunity of beginning the many student organizations that are still thriving at HUCOP. I was involved with the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) and served as the International Pharmaceutical Student Federation (IPSF) Chapter Liaison and the Secretary. I served on the Council of Students (COS) as the APhA-ASP Delegate and the Executive Vice-President. I was a member of the Student Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists (SSHP), Alpha Chi Honor Society, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), and Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA). I participated in the Clinical Skills and Patient Counseling Competitions through these organizations and was also involved with the Upward Bound

Program at Harding.
2. What is one of your favorite memories?

One of my favorite memories, besides graduation, was placing second place in the national ASHP Clinical Skills Competition in 2010 in New Orleans, LA. My fellow student pharmacist, Janice McKean, and I competed against teams from pharmacy schools all over the country. We completed a written patient case and then did a 10 minute oral presentation. Winning 2nd place in the nation was exciting on a personal level, but it was also an honor to represent HUCOP in front of so many people.

3. When did you graduate?

I graduated in 2012, and it was such an honor to walk across that stage and receive my hood and my diploma.

4. What did you do after graduation? Did you attend Harding for undergraduate and graduate?

After graduation in May of 2012, I married my amazing husband in June and then a few weeks later began my Post-Graduate Year 1 (PGY-1) Pharmacy Practice Residency at the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System (CAVHS) in Little Rock, AR. My husband graduated from HUCOP in 2013, and we moved to Dallas, TX while he completed his PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Residency and I worked as a clinical pharmacist for Baylor Scott & White Health. My husband accepted a faculty position at HUCOP in 2014 when he completed his residency, and we moved back to Arkansas. I have worked as a clinical pharmacist at CHI St. Vincent in Little Rock, AR, for the past 2 1/2 years, practicing in the medical and cardiac intensive care units as well as on the medical-surgical floors. I am excited to bring the experience that I have gathered in these few short years back to the classroom and to my practice site at Unity Health.

5. What are you looking forward to most being back at Harding?

I feel very blessed to be back at HUCOP, and I look forward to sharing my passion for pharmacy with our students. Our school has grown and matured so much since I entered as a first year pharmacy student, and I hope to be able to assist in furthering that growth. What I am most looking forward to is being back in the Harding community. This is a special place, and I truly believe in the work that we are doing here. I love the HUCOP mission of developing pharmacists who work to improve not only the physical wellness but also the spiritual wellness of our patients, and my goal as a pharmacy faculty member is help inspire our students to use their God-given talents to serve their patients to the best of their abilities, whatever area of pharmacy they serve in.

We are so happy to have you, Mallory! Welcome to HUCOP, you will be such a light to our community!
Leave a Reply

