HUCOP Spotlight: P4 Student, Carly Edwards

unnamed

  • Where are you from? Where did you do undergrad?
    1. I am from Jackson, Mississippi
    2. I did my undergrad at Harding University also
  • When did you decide to be a pharmacist and why?
    1. I decided to become a pharmacist the week before I came to summer stampede to register for freshman classes. I knew that I wanted to do something in the medical field, but I had no idea what that something was. I have always wanted to help people. I have always wanted to be that smiling face and turn someone’s bad day upside down. Once my family started to spit-ball ideas, my dad suggested pharmacy. It was random, because no one in my family was a pharmacist, nor at that time was anyone else in the medical field at all. At registration, I took his suggestion and met with the pre-pharmacy advisor. I’ve wanted to be a pharmacist ever since then and haven’t looked back on my decision once!
  • What have you enjoyed most about Harding’s pharmacy program?
    1. Hands down, I have enjoyed the faculty and staff more than anything in Harding’s pharmacy program. I have real relationships with many of my teachers. They seek a relationship with you other than teacher-student. They care about us and that is evident. Almost every teacher has his or her door open 90% of the time, and they welcome you to come in for a chat. They don’t care if you want to talk about school, the weather, your faith, your family, or your dreams because they care about it all. It’s amazing the kind of relationship that you can have with these pharmacy professors by just putting forth a little effort to get to know them.
  • What are you most looking forward to in your upcoming rotations?
    1. I am looking forward to all of the adventures I get to go on while experiencing pharmacy in all different parts of the United States. I am also looking forward to applying what I have spent so many years learning in the classroom. Taking a test about how to treat a brain abscess caused by Nocardia doesn’t have the same effect as suggesting to a team of health professionals which antibiotic the patient should use to treat the infection. I am looking forward to helping people feel better, which is why I wanted to go into the medical field in the first place.
    2. I am currently in Anchorage, AK on my 2nd experience of the year. I am working in a home infusion pharmacy that also specializes in HIV medications. I have the privilege of working with so many different types of pharmacists in just one location! I can work between IV compounding, nonsterile compounding, HIV medications, and common retail medications. These seven pharmacists work in the same pharmacy and bounce ideas off one another to come up with suggestions or to answer tough questions. I have been here a little over a week, and I am learning so much. This is such an amazing experience.
  • What do you see yourself doing this time next year?
    1. I honestly have no idea other than practicing pharmacy. I could do anything in the field of pharmacy and love it. I am completely open-minded and open to go where God wants me to go! I would love to work in a hospital or a clinic or a specialty pharmacy. I am fascinated by the world of infectious disease and oncology and I would love to be able to work more in depth in either of those areas of study. However, I want to go into the job world with an open mind, and just see where I end up!
Leave a Reply

